Historical Background

In 1971, Section 86 of the Charter of the City of Lucena was amended by the Act of Congress. By virtue of the amendment, the City Schools Division of Lucena became completely independent from the Quezon Division. From that year to present (2016), Deped Lucena City Division Office stayed within the premises of the Lucena West 1 Elementary located at M. L. Tagarao Street Extension in Barangay Ilayang Iyam, Lucena City.

At present, the Division of Lucena City is composed of four (4) school districts namely: the East district with nine (9) elementary  and three (3) secondary schools including two (2)  extension high school, North district with fourteen (14) elementary and two (2) Secondary including one (1) extension high school, South with ten (10) elementary including one (1) annex and two (2) secondary including one (1) extension high school, and West district with ten (10) elementary, two (2) secondary including one (1) extension high school and one (1) integrated school. Currently, there are four (4)  additional extension high school in the division.

There are six (6) public senior high school and twenty-six (26) private senior high school.  Private schools numbered to forty-five (45), of which forty-five (45) offer kindergarten classes, thirty-seven(37) offer elementary and twenty-five (25) offer secondary.

Total Page Visits: 2093 - Today Page Visits: 7